Mises Review

Displaying 51 - 60 of 389

Hamilton's Curse: How Jefferson's Archenemy Betrayed the American Revolution — and What It Means for America Today, by Thomas J. DiLorenzo

12/01/2008Mises Review
After you read the dedication of Hamilton's Curse , you know that the book is going to be good: "Dedicated to the memory of Professor Murray N. Rothbard, a brilliant scholar and tireless defender of the free society."
Read More

Red Hot Lies: How Global Warming Alarmists Use Threats, Fraud, and Deception to Keep You Misinformed, by Christopher C. Horner

Big GovernmentThe Environment

12/01/2008Mises Review
Those of us who refuse to accept calls from proponents of global warming for drastic restrictions on production often confront objections like this: You skeptics, blinded by fanatical devotion to the free market, ignore evidence.
Read More

Courts and Congress: America's Unwritten Constitution, by William J. Quirk

Legal SystemU.S. History

12/01/2008Mises Review
Courts and Congress defends a revolutionary thesis. If asked, who has the final say in our government on the meaning of the Constitution, most people would say, the Supreme Court.
Read More

New Deal or Raw Deal? How FDR's Economic Legacy Has Damaged America, by Burton Folsom, Jr.

Legal SystemU.S. History

12/01/2008Mises Review
Readers of The Mises Review will not be surprised to learn that Folsom considers the New Deal a failure. Nevertheless, even those already familiar with such books as John T. Flynn's The Roosevelt Myth will find Folsom's book valuable.
Read More

Smart Power: Toward a Prudent Foreign Policy for America, by Ted Galen Carpenter

War and Foreign Policy

10/01/2008Mises Review
Ted Galen Carpenter has given us, on the whole, an excellent and very useful book; but it contains a crucial flaw. The book, which collects essays and columns that Carpenter has written since 2002,
Read More

Sovereignty: God, State, and Self, by Jean Bethke Elshtain

World HistoryPolitical Theory

10/01/2008Mises Review
Several years ago, I wrote a diatribe against Jean Elshtain's Just War Against Terror . She was not altogether pleased by this and sent in a letter of protest, which evoked yet more venom from me.
Read More

A Nation of Sheep, by Andrew P. Napolitano

Legal SystemThe Police State

10/01/2008Mises Review
Judge Napolitano has organized his excellent book around a central metaphor. He contrasts sheep, who follow their shepherd with unquestioning devotion, and wolves, who are alert to protect themselves:
Read More

Who Killed the Constitution? The Fate of American Liberty from World War I to George W. Bush, by Thomas E. Woods, Jr.

Legal SystemU.S. History

10/01/2008Mises Review
The question posed by the title of this book raises a further question, as the authors are well aware. If the Constitution is indeed dead, why does this matter? American conservatives have in past days been accused of "Constitution worship":
Read More

Anarchism/Minarchism: Is a Government Part of a Free Country?, by Roderick T. Long and Tibor R. Machan

Political Theory

10/01/2008Mises Review
Libertarians of course believe in the free market; if you find someone who favors the government provision of medical care or education, e.g., you know immediately that he is not a full-fledged libertarian.
Read More

Vindicating Lincoln: Defending the Politics of Our Greatest President, by Thomas L. Krannawitter

BiographiesU.S. History

10/01/2008Mises Review
When I reached page 222 of Vindicating Lincoln , I almost threw the book across the room. There I read, "First, the latest iterations of European philosophy during the antebellum period
Read More
Shield icon library